Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

Henry VIII: The King and His Court (Ballantine Reader's Circle)

by (Ballantine Books)

(189 reviews)

Get It Preview
$11.99 $12.99 Save 8%

Share This

Description

For fans of Wolf Hall, Alison Weir's New York Times bestselling biography of Henry VIII brilliantly brings to life the king, the court, and the fascinating men and women who vied for its pleasures and rewards.

BONUS: This edition contains an excerpt from Alison Weir's Mary Boleyn.

Henry VIII, renowned for his command of power, celebrated for his intellect, presided over the most stylish -- and dangerous -- court in Renaissance Europe. Scheming cardinals vied for power with newly rich landowners and merchants, brilliant painters and architects introduced a new splendor into art and design, and each of Henry's six queens brought her own influence to bear upon the life of the court. In her new book, Alison Weir, author of the finest royal chronicles of our time, brings to vibrant life the turbulent, complex figure of Henry VIII and the glittering court he made his own.

In an age when a monarch's domestic and political lives were inextricably intertwined, a king as powerful and brilliant as Henry VIII exercised enormous sway over the laws, the customs, and the culture of his kingdom. Yet as Weir shows in this swift, vivid narrative, Henry's ministers, nobles, and wives were formidable figures in their own right, whose influence both enhanced and undermined the authority of the throne. On a grand stage rich in pageantry, intrigue, passion, and luxury, Weir records the many complex human dramas that swirled around Henry, while deftly weaving in an account of the intimate rituals and desires of England's ruling class -- their sexual practices, feasts and sports, tastes in books and music, houses and gardens.

Stimulating and tumultuous, the court of Henry VIII attracted the finest minds and greatest beauties in Renaissance England -- poets Wyatt and Surrey, the great portraitist Hans Holbein, "feasting ladies" like Elizabeth Blount and Elizabeth FitzWalter, the newly rich Boleyn family and the ancient aristocratic clans like the Howards and the Percies, along with the entourages and connections that came and went with each successive wife. The interactions between these individuals, and the terrible ends that befell so many of them, make Henry VIII: The King and His Court an absolutely spellbinding read.

Meticulous in historic detail, narrated with high style and grand drama, Alison Weir brilliantly brings to life the king, the court, and the fascinating men and women who vied for its pleasures and rewards.

NOTE: This edition does not contain illustrations.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Get It This book is at its lowest price within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • $
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Alison Weir on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Alison Weir.
  • to stop tracking Alison Weir.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on October 4, 2010.
  • This book was $9.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 67 times in the past 3,424 days.
  • The current price of this book is $11.99 last checked 19 hours ago.
  • This book is at its lowest price in the past year.
  • The lowest price to date was $0.99 last reached on April 21, 2013.
  • This book has been $0.99 one time since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was $14.99 last reached on September 9, 2019.
  • This book has been $14.99 one time since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Publication Date: December 18, 2007
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 658 Pages
  • File Size: 3,607 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 19 hours ago. At that time, the price was $11.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.com website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.