Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

Last Explorer: Hubert Wilkins, Hero of the Golden Age of Polar Exploration

by (Skyhorse)

(65 reviews)

Get It Preview
$2.99 $11.99 Save 75%

Share This

Description

In the tradition of The Ice Master and Endurance, here is the incredible story of the first truly modern explorer, whose death-defying adventures and uncommon modesty make this book itself an extraordinary discovery. Hubert Wilkins was the most successful explorer in history—no one saw with his own eyes more undiscovered land and sea. Largely self-taught, Wilkins became a celebrated newsreel cameraman in the early 1900s, as well as a reporter, pilot, spy, war hero, scientist, and adventurer, capturing in his lens war and famine, cheating death repeatedly, meeting world leaders like Lenin and Stalin, and circling the globe on a zeppelin.
Apprenticing with the greats of polar exploration, including Shackleton in the Antarctic, Wilkins recognized the importance of new technologies such as the airplane and submarine. He helped map the Canadian Arctic and plumbed the ocean depths from the icecap. A pioneer in the truest sense of the word, he became the first man to fly across the North Pole, which won him a knighthood; the first to fly to the Antarctic and discover land there by airplane; and the first to take a submarine under the Arctic ice. Grasping the link between the poles and changing global weather, Wilkins was a visionary in weather forecasting and the study of global warming. A true hero of the earth, he changed the way we look at our world.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been $1.99 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • $
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Simon Nasht on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Simon Nasht.
  • to stop tracking Simon Nasht.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on May 14, 2012.
  • This book was $1.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 63 times in the past 3,695 days.
  • The current price of this book is $2.99 last checked 17 hours ago.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is $1.99.
  • The lowest price to date was $1.99 last reached on March 15, 2022.
  • This book has been $1.99 13 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was $15.86 last reached on May 18, 2022.
  • This book has been $15.86 one time since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Publication Date: November 11, 2011
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Print Length: 396 Pages
  • File Size: 1,345 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 17 hours ago. At that time, the price was $2.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.com website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.