Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

The Key to Justice (A Marc Kadella Legal Mystery Book 1)

by (Dennis Carstens)

(773 reviews)

Get It Preview
$2.99

Share This

Description

"A shot in the dark, right in the gut, that's what Carstens is good at. The Key to Justice is full of twists and turns as the Twin Cities live in terror of a violent stalker. Carstens aims to be realistic about the law and its enforcers, and he hits it right... The plot is as full of surprises as a Minneapolis Jucy Lucy and ultimately just as satisfying." -Tony Dunbar, Anthony- and Edgar-nominated author of the Tubby Dubonnet legal thriller series.

THE CASE OF A LIFETIME WALKS IN THE DOOR...

Financially embarrassed, getting a divorce, living in a shabby apartment, and distinctly short of clients, Marc Kadella's beginning to question why he ever went into the law when a friend brings him the case all Minneapolis is watching -- defending an accused serial killer. If he wins, it could turn his life around -- if he blows it, he better go into sales.

Dennis Carstens weaves a gritty, street-wise narrative in this action-packed legal thriller, sure to please fans of courtroom drama and classic noir. You can almost see the guys in this one sporting fedoras, and the babes would stop traffic even without the cleavage Carstens makes their standard attire. But there's a contemporary angle sure to please fans of both sexes--the toughest guy in the story is gorgeous investigator Maddy Rivers.

Carstens seems to relish getting her into increasingly brutal fights, some with laughs -- like the time she roughs up a couple of rogue cops and takes away their guns. And when this author gets into an action scene, the prose flexes its muscles like a prison weightlifter.

Kadella and Rivers' job is to find the evidence that will exonerate Kadella's client Carl Fornich, a convicted sex offender recently out of prison. But the prosecution's evidence is stacked a mile high -- the murder weapon found at his house, an eyewitness, a semen sample, and blood from two victims. To top it off, the cops really want to nail this guy -- one cop in particular.

Carstens realistic take on the law as a nuts-and-bolts, often rickety way to make a living blends nicely with his worldly-wise portrayal of backroom deals, crooked cops, and judges and politicians who connive and collude right on up to the governor's mansion.

It's a classic David-and Goliath setup, and the author's got some pretty fancy twists in store as Kadella unravels a complicated plot to set his client up, and Maddy battles demons that just keep coming at her. Fans of John Grisham, Scott Pratt, Richard North Patterson, and of course the most beloved lawyer sleuth of all time, Erle Stanley Gardner's Perry Mason, will gobble up this one and go back for the rest of the series.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been $0.00 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • $
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Dennis Carstens on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Dennis Carstens.
  • to stop tracking Dennis Carstens.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on January 27, 2013.
  • This book was $0.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 48 times in the past 2,426 days.
  • The current price of this book is $2.99 last checked 11 hours ago.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is FREE.
  • The lowest price to date was FREE last reached on September 13, 2019.
  • This book has been FREE 8 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was $3.99 last reached on January 24, 2018.
  • This book has been $3.99 5 times since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Publication Date: December 18, 2013
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Print Length: 375 Pages
  • File Size: 2,694 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 11 hours ago. At that time, the price was $2.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.com website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.