Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

Arts & Entertainments: A Novel

by (Ecco)

(60 reviews)

Get It Preview
$5.99 $6.99 Save 14%

Share This

Description

Christopher Beha delivers a cutting send-up of our cultural obsession with celebrity -- a deliciously witty, and ultimately tender, novel about the absurdity of fame and the complexity of love sure to appeal to fans of Maria Semple and Jess Walter.

A sharp-edged satire with heart, Arts & Entertainments is the story of Handsome Eddie Hartley who, at thirty-three, has forgone dreams of an acting career for the reality of life as a drama teacher at a boys' prep school. But when Eddie and his wife, Susan, discover they cannot have children, it is one disappointment too many.

Weighted down with debt, his wife's mounting unhappiness, and his own deepening sense of failure, Eddie is confronted with an alluring solution when an old friend-turned-web-impresario suggests Eddie sell a sex tape he made with an ex-girlfriend, now a wildly popular television star. Overcoming his initial moral qualms, Eddie figures that in an era when any publicity is good publicity, the tape won't cause any harm -- a decision that will have disastrous consequences and propel him straight into the glaring spotlight he once thought he craved.

A hilariously biting and incisive take-down of our culture's monstrous obsession with fame, Arts & Entertainments is also a poignant and humane portrait of a young man's belated coming-of-age, the complications of love, and the surprising ways in which the most meaningful lives often turn out to be the ones we least expected to lead.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been $1.99 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • $
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Christopher Beha on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Christopher Beha.
  • to stop tracking Christopher Beha.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on January 19, 2014.
  • This book was $9.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 91 times in the past 2,391 days.
  • The current price of this book is $5.99 last checked 8 hours ago.
  • This book is at its lowest price in the past 90 days.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is $1.99.
  • The lowest price to date was $1.99 last reached on March 16, 2020.
  • This book has been $1.99 9 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was $11.14 last reached on April 14, 2015.
  • This book has been $11.14 one time since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Publication Date: July 1, 2014
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 293 Pages
  • File Size: 817 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 8 hours ago. At that time, the price was $5.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.com website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.