Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

The Courage of Marge O'Doone

by (White Press)

(39 reviews)

Get It Preview
$5.69

Share This

Description

This early work by James Oliver Curwood was originally published in 1918 and we are now republishing it with a brand new introductory biography. Curwood's novel "The Courage of Marge O'Doone" is a tale of a man driven by his own demons, who upon his journey meets another man also riding into the cold north. James Oliver 'Jim' Curwood was an American action-adventure writer and conservationist. He was born on 12th June, 1878, in Owosso, Michigan, USA. In 1900, Curwood sold his first story while working for the Detroit News-Tribune, and after this, his career in writing was made. By 1909 he had saved enough money to travel to the Canadian northwest, a trip that provided the inspiration for his wilderness adventure stories. The success of his novels afforded him the opportunity to return to the Yukon and Alaska for several months each year - allowing Curwood to write more than thirty such books. Curwood's adventure writing followed in the tradition of Jack London. Like London, Curwood set many of his works in the wilds of the Great Northwest and often used animals as lead characters (Kazan, Baree; Son of Kazan, The Grizzly King and Nomads of the North). Many of Curwood's adventure novels also feature romance as primary or secondary plot consideration. His most successful work was his 1920 novel, The River's End. The book sold more than 100,000 copies and was the fourth best-selling title of the year in the United States, according to Publisher's Weekly. He contributed to various literary and popular magazines throughout his career, and his bibliography includes more than 200 such articles, short stories and serializations. Curwood was an avid hunter in his youth; however, as he grew older, he became an advocate of environmentalism and was appointed to the 'Michigan Conservation Commission' in 1926. The change in his attitude toward wildlife can be best expressed by a quote he gave in The Grizzly King: that 'The greatest thrill is not to kill but to let live.' Despite this change in attitude, Curwood did not have an ultimately fruitful relationship with nature. In 1927, while on a fishing trip in Florida, Curwood was bitten on the thigh by what was believed to have been a spider and he had an immediate allergic reaction. Health problems related to the bite escalated over the next few months as an infection set in. He died soon after in his nearby home on Williams Street, on 13th August 1927. He was aged just forty-nine, and was interred in Oak Hill Cemetery (Owosso), in a family plot.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been $3.03 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • $
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track James Oliver Curwood on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by James Oliver Curwood.
  • to stop tracking James Oliver Curwood.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on October 9, 2015.
  • This book was $5.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 90 times in the past 3,156 days.
  • The current price of this book is $5.69 last checked 15 hours ago.
  • This book is at its lowest price in the past 90 days.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is $3.03.
  • The lowest price to date was $0.99 last reached on November 9, 2018.
  • This book has been $0.99 one time since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was $8.99 last reached on March 15, 2020.
  • This book has been $8.99 one time since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Publication Date: July 7, 2015
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 191 Pages
  • File Size: 680 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 15 hours ago. At that time, the price was $5.69. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.com website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.