Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

Nightbooks

by

(843 reviews)

Get It Preview
$9.99

Share This

Description

A boy is imprisoned by a witch and must tell her a new scary story each night to stay alive. This thrilling contemporary fantasy from J. A. White, the acclaimed author of the Thickety series, brings to life the magic and craft of storytelling.

Alex's original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon he'll run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. He's loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most don't have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, he's desperate for a different ending -- and a way out of this twisted place.

This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writer's block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all readers of delightfully just-dark-enough tales.

* Summer 2018 Kids' Indie Next List * YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * 2019-2020 Florida Sunshine State Young Readers Award * 2020 Rhode Island Children's Book Award Nominee * Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year 2019 (9-12) * 2020-2021 Missouri Association of School Librarians Truman Readers Award Preliminary Nominee * Texas Bluebonnet Award List 2020-2021 * South Carolina Junior Book Award Nominee (2021-2022) *

Plus return to the world of Nightbooks -- if you dare -- with J. A. White's follow-up, Gravebooks!

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been $6.49 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • $
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track J. A. White on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by J. A. White.
  • to stop tracking J. A. White.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on October 27, 2017.
  • This book was $9.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 27 times in the past 2,424 days.
  • The current price of this book is $9.99 last checked 8 hours ago.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past 90 days is $9.49.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is $6.49.
  • The lowest price to date was $1.99 last reached on June 1, 2022.
  • This book has been $1.99 2 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was $9.99 last reached on May 4, 2024.
  • This book has been $9.99 3 times since we started tracking it.
  • This book is currently at its highest price since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Disabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 309 Pages

We last verified the price of this book about 8 hours ago. At that time, the price was $9.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.com website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.