Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

The English Paragon: A Prince's Tale

by (Lume Books)

(9 reviews)

Get It Preview
$2.99

Share This

Description

Some princes are not destined to become kings...

Prince Edward has been written into English history and folklore just the same. With his jet-black armour and nickname of the Black Prince, he emerges in the history books as a fierce warrior dogged by sickness and a destined kingship that fate would deny him.

The present novel is not a biography or study of this famous Prince of Wales, but an impressionistic relation of the fatal Spanish campaign of 1366 and the subsequent revolt of Aquitaine in 1370, considered from many points of view.

With her trademark imagination, Bowen's novel about his life is a gripping read, dark in parts, with a stunning grip on the horrors of Medieval life. A fabulous read for fans of Hilary Mantel and Robert Harris, that will leave you wanting more.

Praise for Marjorie Bowen

'A book remarkable alike for its vividness and for its historical perspective' - Daily Express

'... one of the most novel features of Miss Bowen's book is the care she takes to see the point of view of Mary's lovers. She makes a plausible case for Bothwell and even joins the very select band of those who have something good to say for Darnley' - Times Literary Supplement

'Fresh, vivid, exciting and enthralling... This is a fine book' - The Sphere

'A book in every way worthwhile... as an individual contribution to the subject, Miss Bowen's work is of the exceptional class' - The Scotman

'Miss Bowen's work is of the exceptional class' - The Scotsman

Marjorie Bowen was born in 1885 on Hayling Island in Hampshire. She and her sister grew up in poverty, but Bowen was eventually able to study at the Slade School of Fine Art and later in Paris. Her first novel, the violent historical The Viper of Milan (written when she was 16) was rejected by several publishers, who considered it inappropriate for a young woman to have written such a novel. It went on to become a best-seller when eventually published.

Her total output numbers over 150 volumes with the bulk of her work under the 'Bowen' pseudonym. She also wrote under the names Joseph Shearing, George R. Preedy, John Winch, Robert Paye and Margaret Campbell. Bowen died on 22 December 1952, after suffering serious concussion as a result of a fall in her bedroom. This book was previously published under the name George R. Preedy.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been $0.00 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • $
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Marjorie Bowen on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Marjorie Bowen.
  • to stop tracking Marjorie Bowen.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on January 9, 2018.
  • This book was $0.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 15 times in the past 2,243 days.
  • The current price of this book is $2.99 last checked 3 hours ago.
  • This book is at its lowest price in the past 90 days.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is FREE.
  • The lowest price to date was FREE last reached on October 19, 2023.
  • This book has been FREE 3 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was $2.99 last reached on October 23, 2023.
  • This book has been $2.99 8 times since we started tracking it.
  • This book is currently at its highest price since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Publication Date: December 11, 2017
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 245 Pages
  • File Size: 2,070 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 3 hours ago. At that time, the price was $2.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.com website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.