Account

Company

  Menu

Description

????? 'Heartbreaking... I could not put it down.' Christian Novel Review
????? 'Powerful and heart-wrenching... Kept me awake at night.' Christian Bookaholic
????? 'Completely immersive... Amazing.' Fiction Books
????? 'I am a big fan... Thrilling.' Fireflies and Free Kicks Fiction

Hanni flattens herself against the platform wall, looking for a gap in the chaos around her. She can see her father coming, slashing a path to her through the passengers who have realised too late where these trains are taking them...

Germany 1945. Her heart thundering, Hannelore Foss runs out of the station and into the first car she sees. For long, brutal years, she has fought against her father, a high-ranking Nazi. But her final attempt to help the families being bundled onto the trains has been discovered. Heartbroken, she escapes to Berlin, to pick up the fight for justice once more...

One year later. Hanni has a new name and a tiny, lonely apartment on the outskirts of the city. In stolen moments, she collects evidence to expose her father's crimes to the British. But her plan is threatened when she discovers a body hidden in a bombed-out building and meets Freddy, the tortured young detective in charge of the case.

As Hanni and Freddy piece together the shocking truth of Hanni's discovery, their hearts become hopelessly connected. But both are hiding secrets about the choices they made during the war, and Hanni knows that any future together is impossible unless she can confront the past that haunts her. For a chance of happiness, what will she have to sacrifice, and can it ever be enough?

A heartbreaking novel about the incredible courage of ordinary people during the Second World War. Fans of The Alice Network, The Nightingale and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will never forget this powerful story of hope found in the darkest days.

Readers love Catherine Hokin:

????? 'The best historical fiction book I've read this year! I was awake until the early morning hours finishing it, because I could not put it down!... Heartbreaking.' Goodreads reviewer

????? 'Amazing... I was totally absorbed in the story... 10 stars. One of my best reads this year. I can't begin to say how much I loved this book, I couldn't put it down, absolutely brilliant.' Goodreads reviewer

????? 'If I could give this book more than a five-star rating, I surely would! It is absolutely the best WW2 historical fiction I've read in a long time!... I couldn't bear to put it down.' Goodreads reviewer

????? 'Can I give a rating higher than 5 stars?!... I really loved this book.' Goodreads reviewer

????? 'Have you ever read a book that has torn at your heartstrings so much that you just know it's going to leave a lasting impression for the rest of time?... This book is going on that list!' Goodreads reviewer

????? 'This story just swept me away... I was left speechless... just wow!!... I do recommend a box of tissues... This book will have you turning the pages.' Red Headed Book Lady

????? 'The more I read of this book, the more I had to read! What a fantastic story this is touching just about every emotion there is.' Goodreads reviewer

????? 'A wonderfully heartbreaking story of life, love and above all survival. A truly emotional book and very hard to put down. 5*.' Goodreads reviewer

????? 'Captivating. Sobering. Unflinching. 5+ stars.' Goodreads reviewer

????? 'Squeezed my cold heart... I was turned inside out yet completely invested and unwilling to put my Kindle down while compelled to read late into the night.' Goodreads reviewer

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Get It This book is free, possibly only for a limited time.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • $
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Catherine Hokin on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Catherine Hokin.
  • to stop tracking Catherine Hokin.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on January 13, 2022.
  • This book was $3.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 8 times in the past 383 days.
  • The current price of this book is FREE last checked 26 minutes ago.
  • The lowest price to date was FREE last reached on January 23, 2023.
  • This book has been FREE one time since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was $3.99 last reached on January 1, 2023.
  • This book has been $3.99 4 times since we started tracking it.
  • This book is currently at its lowest price since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Publication Date: January 26, 2022
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 314 Pages
  • File Size: 1,501 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 26 minutes ago. At that time, the price was $0.00. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.com website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.