Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

Every Last Cuckoo

by

(497 reviews)

Get It Preview
$9.30

Share This

Description

An elderly widow discovers a new sense of purpose when a series of wayward young people come to stay in her Vermont home in this "truly engrossing novel" (Library Journal).

Sarah Lucas imagined the rest of her days would be spent living peacefully in her rural Vermont home in the steadfast company of her husband. But now, with Charles's sudden passing, seventy-five-year-old Sarah is left inconsolably alone.

As grief settles in, Sarah's mind lingers on her past: her imperfect but devoted fifty-year marriage to Charles; the years they spent raising their three very different children; and her childhood during the Great Depression, when her parents opened their home to countless relatives and neighbors. So, when a variety of lost souls come seeking shelter in Sarah's own big, empty home, her past comes full circle. As this unruly flock forms a family of sorts, they -- with Sarah -- nurture and protect one another, all the while discovering their unsuspected strengths and courage.

In the tradition of Jane Smiley and Sue Miller, Kate Maloy has crafted a wise and gratifying novel about a woman who gracefully accepts a surprising new role just when she thought her best years were behind her.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book has been $1.99 within the past year.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • $
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Kate Maloy on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Kate Maloy.
  • to stop tracking Kate Maloy.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on December 31, 2012.
  • This book was $1.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 115 times in the past 3,682 days.
  • The current price of this book is $9.30 last checked 19 hours ago.
  • This lowest price this book has been offered at in the past year is $1.99.
  • The lowest price to date was $1.99 last reached on January 11, 2023.
  • This book has been $1.99 23 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was $13.95 last reached on April 30, 2018.
  • This book has been $13.95 2 times since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Disabled
  • Lending: Disabled

We last verified the price of this book about 19 hours ago. At that time, the price was $9.30. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.com website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.