Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

Orbital Decay (Near-Space Book 1)

by (Open Road Media Sci-Fi & Fantasy)

(135 reviews)

Get It Preview
$1.99 $7.99 Save 75%

Share This

Description

Winner of the Locus Award: Space-station workers discover a shocking global surveillance plot in this novel from "the master of science-fiction intrigue" (The Washington Post).

Popeye Hooker knows that space isn't all it's cracked up to be. A former fisherman who takes a job building low orbital stations to escape a failed relationship, he finds that in space, construction work is still a grind. And when they aren't building the space stations that will usher humanity into the stars, Sam Sloane and the rest of the beamjacks get high, blast the Grateful Dead, and stare through telescopes at the world they left behind. But life in orbit is about to get much more interesting.

Nestled among the life support equipment that keeps them alive and the entertainment systems that keep them happy, the beamjacks find something astonishing. Turns out, their home isn't just a space station -- it's a giant antenna designed to spy on every inhabitant of Earth. It's the greatest privacy invasion ever perpetrated, and the beamjacks won't stand for it.

They may not be pioneers, but these roughnecks are about to become revolutionaries.

Timely -- and with Orwellian undertones, Allen Steele's debut won the Locus Award for Best First Novel. Perfect for fans of Robert Heinlein, Robert J. Sawyer, and Greg Bear, Orbital Decay blends fantasy and science fiction with a prescient attention paid to the dangers of government surveillance.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged

Our Recommendation

Get It This book is at its lowest price since we started tracking it.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • $
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Allen Steele on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Allen Steele.
  • to stop tracking Allen Steele.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on October 21, 2013.
  • This book was $1.99 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed 183 times in the past 3,834 days.
  • The current price of this book is $1.99 last checked one day ago.
  • The lowest price to date was $1.99 last reached on April 2, 2024.
  • This book has been $1.99 69 times since we started tracking it.
  • The highest price to date was $9.99 last reached on July 13, 2023.
  • This book has been $9.99 one time since we started tracking it.
  • This book is currently at its lowest price since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Publication Date: September 3, 2013
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • Print Length: 420 Pages
  • File Size: 3,308 KB

We last verified the price of this book about one day ago. At that time, the price was $1.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.com website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.