Account

Company

  Menu
Large Image

Racism

by

(14 reviews)

Get It Preview
$16.99 $22.50 Save 24%

Share This

Description

An eminent social analyst examines the way racism works-and how it can be overcome.

Racism: It is social, not "natural"; it is general, not "personal"; and it is tragically effective. In a remarkable meditation on a subject at the troubled center of American life, Albert Memmi investigates racism as social pathology-a cultural disease that prevails because it allows one segment of society to empower itself at the expense of another. By turns historical, sociological, and autobiographical, Racism moves beyond individual prejudice and taste to engage the broader questions of collective behavior and social responsibility.

The book comprises three sections-"Description," "Definition," and "Treatment"-in which Memmi delineates racism's causes and hidden workings, examines its close affinity to colonialism, and considers its everyday manifestations over a period of centuries throughout the West.

For Memmi, the structure of racism has four "moments": the insistence on difference; the negative valuation imposed on those who differ; the generalizing of this negative valuation to an entire group; and the use of generalization to legitimize hostility. Memmi shows how it is not racism's content-which can change at will-but its form that gives it such power and tenacity.

Born in a poor section of Tunis, Tunisia, a Jew among Muslims, an Arab among Europeans, Memmi brings his own experience of the complex contours of prejudice to his analysis of a problem that divides societies the world over. Writing in the tradition of Frantz Fanon, Memmi redirects debates about racism-and offers a rare chance for progress against social prejudice.

Tag This Book

This Book Has Been Tagged
It hasn't. Be the first to tag this book!

Our Recommendation

Track It. This book may eventually drop below $9.99.

Notify Me When The Price...

  • $
  • If I'm already tracking this book...

to track this book on eReaderIQ.

Track These Authors

to track Albert Memmi on eReaderIQ.

  • to be notified each time the price drops on any book by Albert Memmi.
  • to stop tracking Albert Memmi.

Price Summary

  • We started tracking this book on October 2, 2023.
  • This book was $22.50 when we started tracking it.
  • The price of this book has changed one time in the past 147 days.
  • The current price of this book is $16.99 last checked 7 hours ago.
  • This book is currently at its lowest price since we started tracking it.

Genres

Additional Info

  • Text-to-Speech: Disabled
  • Lending: Disabled
  • File Size: 711 KB

We last verified the price of this book about 7 hours ago. At that time, the price was $16.99. This price is subject to change. The price displayed on the Amazon.com website at the time of purchase is the price you will pay for this book. Please confirm the price before making any purchases.